Mouthing Off

June 17, 2009 emtsgrl

I have had issues with my teeth and jaws ever since I can remember.  I hate going to the dentist because I’ve never had a good experience in visiting them, so I will put off a visit until something happens and I have to go.  Which is what happened today.

I knocked out the halves of two of my front teeth in third grade in a horrible bicycle accident, the day before my family went on vacation.  Of course, I had to wait until we got back to have them fixed.   I remember my mama packing all the bandages and ointments that I had to use everyday on my face, knees, and elbows.  It was horrible!  Once back home, I was referred to a special dentist to have my teeth bonded.  It wasn’t too bad of an experience!

I had braces from 6th grade until 10th grade and wore a retainer for a year after.  Before getting those metal beauties I had six teeth pulled, had to be put to sleep because they had to cut some out from under the gum.  After wearing those lovely metal pains in the butt for years and a reatainer for a year you’d think things would have been solved.  Well, you’d be wrong.  After six months of not wearing the retainer my teeth began to shift.  Needless to say my parents were less than impressed after they spent thousands of dollars only to find all that metal did not do what they were meant to.  

I had seen an oral surgeon after graduating for jaw surgery, which he postponed hoping that things would improve on their own.  At that visit I was told I’d never have to worry about wisdom teeth because I didn’t have roots for them.  Two years later, my jaws were swollen and any activity that involved opening my mouth was out.  After a visit to a dentist I was referred to the same oral surgeon for the removal of, yep, wisdom teeth!  Did they come in straight and nice to make it easy on everyone?  Nope, they were crooked and one came in sideways.  I remember all this so well, because my hubby, then my boyfriend, took me for the surgery, the week of our first anniversary!  We went to Olive Garden for dinner, because, well, pasta doesn’t take that much effort to eat.  I was swollen and miserable and I’m sure so pretty!  The next day they cut those suckers out.   

When we lived in El Paso the bonding on one of my teeth broke and I had to go have it repaired.  The dentist was very nice and told me I needed to make an appointment for x-rays, a cleaning, and possibly a referral to an oral surgeon.  What is up with my need to be seen by a surgeon every time I see a dentist???  Anyway, I made the appointment and then chickened out two days before and cancelled.  In my defense, my husband was deployed and I didn’t have a babysitter for Monkey.  Looking back, I probably should have kept that appointment.  

So, you see, every time I go to the dentist, it turns into a big, painful, and frightening ordeal and I’d rather just avoid it thank you very much.  

So, Sunday I  was eating a sandwich and something broke.  I was afraid to swallow my sandwich because I didn’t want to swallow whatever broke off.  So, gross as it sounds, I dug out what ever broke off and then swallowed my bread.  I got on line and looked up dentists in this area that took the military dental insurance.  I was thrilled to find that the dentist that does everything, surgery, general dentistry, braces… I mean everything is a tricare dentist! I called Monday, but they were closed.  I called Tuesday and they got me in today!  They  emailed me a welcome packet, I filled it out, and faxed it back.  So, when I got there today I was met with smiles and handshakes and offers for juice and water.  They took the time to go over the papers I faxed over yesterday.  I told the nurse my mouth was bad and she laughed, but soon realized I was not kidding!  So, they took some digital photos of my mouth from all different angles and put them up on a screen.  We went through each picture and discussed it.  Then, the dentist came in.  All three of us discussed the state of my mouth and the best way to proceed with treatment.  Being pregnant is going to cause a few complications in this quest for a beautiful healthy new mouth, but that’s ok, we’ll just take it a step at a time!  

The bad news is that there is so much that needs to be done.  X-rays to look for joint problems in my jaws, debreeding (which sounds so bad) to remove built up calcium and plaque all in hopes of improving the health of the gum tissue, more cleanings, a couple of fillings, and then braces to stop the wear of my teeth on one side and correct the bite on the other side.  30 years old and going the route of braces again!  Maybe this time they’ll work! Oh, and did I mention the bone loss in my upper teeth?  Yep, so that has to be stopped and repaired.  He didn’t tell me how they repair that and I’d rather not know, just put me to sleep and do what ya have to do!  A lot of the cosmetic stuff will have to wait until Baby #3 is here.  At least we have a plan of action and I’m excited to start on this long road to a new smile!

Entry Filed under: Miscellaneous

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mrs. Staff Sergeant  |  June 21, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    PS- excuse my typos! I’m trying to comment with while taking to J at the same time, oops!

  • 2. Mrs. Staff Sergeant  |  June 21, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    Oh my gosh! I know I’m behind on my blog reading and this is now old news now but I just had to comment!

    You and I could be sisters! My mouth is a disaster too! haha.

    I also had braces as a teen that weren’t done the right way. Had multiple teeth taken out and everything just like you did and they shifted back after the braces came off. I also had a jaw widening thing as a pre-teen that required a little key to be turned every day…yeah, that was fun :P

    I had TWO sets of wisdom teeth instead of just one and the second ones were sideways just like yours. They had to crack my jaw bone to get them out in pieces and didn’t even put me to sleep to do it. *shudder* Bad as that sounds, when my brother was about 12 he had a molar come in right through the center of the roof of his mouth. No joke! We obviously come from a stellar gene pool in the dental department ;)

    All this junk created my loathing of the dentist. I seriousness get panicky every time I’m in the chair and put it off forever! Once I went like 4 years without a cleaning (so bad! I know!) and I had to have that crazy “debreeding” thing done too. So gross.

    I think you know I have braces AGAIN right now. Had them put back on at the age of 29 and here I am 2 years later with 6-10 more months to go in them. My teeth were still that screwed up. Not even really crooked to an untrained eye, but positioned all screwy, my bite didn’t line up correctly and my mouth was still too small for them (even after having my jaw widened- I have a freakishly small mouth!) so I had 3 more teeth extracted before the braces went back on this time to make more room. Once again I was awake through the whole thing with only Novocaine- Tricare would have paid to have me put out for 4 or more teeth at the same time, but not 3. Figures right?

    All of my gum tissue was receding and if I hadn’t gone ahead and done this I would have started losing teeth entirely by the time I was 40. (I even got a second opinion at a second orthodontist and was told the same thing.)

    So! I feel your pain girlfriend!

    You know what though, it’s amazing how many adults I’ve noticed over the past couple of years with braces on. It’s really not that uncommon anymore. And if you’re able to have the clear ones you don’t even really see them at a distance so it’s not as embarrassing as you might think. Just keep telling yourself it will all be worth it when you have a perfect smile a couple years from now! Oh, and be grateful you wont have to deal with the braces while you’re pregnant like I did. You know how you gums are ultra-sensitive when you’re expecting? Every time I’d go in to have my wires changed when I was preggo with Vivi it would look like someone got murdered at my station. I was a bleeding fool- so embarrassing! I’m sure they all groaned every time they saw me coming!

    OK, this is the longest comment ever. I’ll shut up now :)

  • 3. Robyn  |  June 18, 2009 at 6:34 am

    I thought I had it bad! I’ve had 10 teeth pulled (beginning at the age of 9), 4 impacted wisdom teeth included. Orthodontics from the age of 5-20 years old. My smile is great, but I haven’t been to the dentist since before Bear was born. Now, I’m petrified I have cavities, but need to such it up and just go already!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

